The village was named after the fortress town of Louisburg in Nova Scotia, where a member of Lord Altamont's family had taken part in a siege in 1758.Modern day Louisburgh has lots to offer with spectacular beaches such as Old Head, Bertra, Carramore, Cross, Carrowniskey, Silver Strand and White Strand, all close by for swimming, walking, surfing / wind surfing plus sea and river fishing.
Events during the year include out St. Patrick's day parade, the Féile Chois Cuain traditional Irish music festival, the Doolough National Famine Walk, the Louisburgh Horse Show and the Carrowniskey Races.
Origins of Louisburgh
Louisburgh, in the townland of Clooncarrabaun (Gaelic 'Cluain Cearbán'), was originally a planned town, constructed in 1795 by the 3rd Earl of Altamount, John Denis Browne of Westport. Browne - later 1st Marquess of Sligo - built the town to house Catholic refugees fleeing sectarian conflict in the north of Ireland. .
The Louisburgh area lies amidst stunning and dramatic scenery, surrounded by the most wonderful natural landscape.
The Féile Chois Cuain Traditional Irish Music Festival is held every May Bank Holiday Weekend when the town hosts a traditional music festival which attracts Irish Music lovers from all over Ireland and abroad.
The Bunowen River travels from Killary Harbour, which is Ireland's only fjord on through some of Ireland's most spectacular countryside before eventually entering the village of Louisburgh on its way to the sea by Carramore Beach and into Clew Bay. There are a number of sheltered, uncrowded, Blue Flag beaches in the area, renowned for their cleanliness, ideal for swimming, sailing, surfing and other watersports.
Welcome to the official website for the beautiful area in the West of Ireland that encompasses Louisburgh, Killeen and World Class Beaches from Bertra to Old Head to Carramore, Emlach, Carrowniskey, Devlin, The White Strand and The Silver Strand in the County Mayo.
Nearby Roonagh Pier is approximately 7km from Louisburgh. This is the departure point for regular ferries to Inisturk and Clare Island.
Louisburgh is close to the holy mountain of Croagh Patrick to the East, the Sheaffry and Mweelrea mountains to the South, the Atlantic to the West and Clew Bay to the North. Louisburgh is located in the South-West of County Mayo, on the R335 regional coastal route linking Westport (to the East) and Delphi on to Killary harbour to the South.
Louisburgh sits on the banks of the Bonowen River and is surrounded by an outstanding landscape composed of unique mountains and beaches.
Although there are a number of archaeological sites in the surrounding areas which indicate the presense of settlements as early as the Megalithic.
The modern day louisburgh has its origins in the 18th century.
Louisburgh, is known as Cluain Cearbán - meaning Meadow of Buttercups.
He named the town in memory of his Uncle – Captain Henry Browne – who fought in the 1758 battle of Louisburg, on the British side against the French. After the British victory his uncle became a captain in the newly formed Louisburgh regiment.